Here’s an update from my internship! I can’t believe I’m already half done.

Manuscripts and Red Marks

Right now I’m staring at a pile of about ten unsolicited manuscripts I need to attend to.

“Unsolicited” means authors just send them to us (often to the wrong person, like Steve or Kylah) without an invitation. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, it just means that I have to read through every single one and determine if it has the potential to be a Berrett-Koehler book. (Read this post if you are curious how I judge them.)

Berrett-Koehler has a very unique way of responding to these unsolicited manuscripts. I learned about this week two, as seen below in my brief attempt to write a Week 2 update:

“February 8:

Today is the fourth day of my internship, and I still feel excited, against all predictions of my supervisor Jeevan Sivasubramaniam. So far, I’ve written several rejection letters (1 by email, 2 by hand). Normally, Berrett-Koehler calls to reject manuscripts, unless the…

View original post 346 more words

Share Your Thoughts

Calendar of Posts

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Graduation Countdown

The Big DayMay 25th, 2013
College is over! I have my degree!
