NaNoWriMo!!!

I decided to take a stab at NaNoWriMo again. We shall see if I’ve merely stabbed myself in the foot. My previous experience with NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, for those who don’t know) has been to start a few days late, get a good pace going, suddenly be burdened by homework, and never get the momentum going again. Once, I reached about 20,000 words. That is the most I’ve ever written in so short a time on one document. I’m a poet, mostly, and not an epic one. The longest poem I’ve ever written was about 10 pages. So this is all a new experience for me. Prose, very long, and non-fiction. Not that it has to be non-fiction, I’ve just decided (being the over-achiever that I am) to jump right in a tell my own story, about my life and my relationships. I guess I was inspired by Audre Lorde’s “Zami” and Eli Clare’s “Exile & Pride”, which I devoured. One of the few assigned readings I’ve ever finished on time.

Anyways, if you happen to be doing NaNo, need someone to keep you accountable, or want to keep me accountable, or simply want to be my buddy (Nano’s term for it), my profile is: http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/participants/byrdie-grey

Right now, I am about 3000 words behind. Doesn’t seem like a lot, but it racks up. I guess I better get cracking!

(Ugh, I cannot believe I just used that phrase. Looks like the clichΓ©s are already coming out. I’m in trouble)

~Byrdie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katherine
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 22:10:41

    Use your strength! Have the main character either write poems or songs, or perhaps find some randomly and go on a mission to find their source. Then you can include all the poems!

    Reply

    • byrdiegrey
      Nov 05, 2011 @ 16:28:21

      Thank you! I actually have several poems that connect to my story; I didn’t even think about including them, but that sounds like an excellent idea.

      Reply

Share Your Thoughts

Calendar of Posts

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Graduation Countdown

The Big DayMay 25th, 2013
College is over! I have my degree!
